Workin On My Fitness

Morning ya’ll!!

I hope your morning is going as well as mine! It’s been quite productive round here.

IMG_0045

OMG puppy Chuck!!

During my workout this morning, I started thinking about how far I have come along on my journey to where I am at now as far as my fitness level. When I first began stepping foot in a fitness facility, which was at my college, Florida Gulf Coast University AKA Dunk City!, I had no idea what to do, where to start, how some of the machines worked etc. I was overwhelmed and felt so out-of-place. I was probably a semester into my college adventure and I had definitely gained some of the “freshman 15”. I lived off cheeze-its, frozen chicken, publix subs, and peanut butter toast. I went out every single night with my roommates because I was now on my own and could do what I wanted, when I wanted. So, I decided I needed to lose some pounds. After a few workouts on the arc trainer and treadmill, I got bored real fast. I had heard about spin and joined in on a class and LOVED it!! I did it a few times a week and really enjoyed the high-energy level of the instructor and her music choices were most excellent. I even tried her kickboxing class, but since I didn’t stretch, ever, I pulled a hamstring and blamed it on the class and vowed to never go back. I stayed true to that vow.

IMG_1174

While I was getting in some intense sweat sessions I wasn’t noticing a drop in my weight, I was actually gaining more weight! I didn’t understand why and my motivation level went out the door…I relapsed! What was most upsetting to me was, all my life, since I was about 4 or 5 years old, I had been so active in sports and playing outdoors. I started playing basketball at the age of 6 and made the varsity team as a freshman in high school as well as did track and field. I also loved soccer, swimming, rollerblading, and I did some diving for a little bit. Once I left high school, I was on my own as far as keeping in shape and healthy.

Vegas...NOT a healthy trip but a fun one!

Vegas…NOT a healthy trip but a fun one!

A couple years down the road, I decided to try out the fitness facility in our neighborhood and I was the only one in there so I had free range on all the equipment. I basically went in there and just studied the pictures on each machine and went for it. I never touched the free weights or the stability ball or BOSU ball.  I worked on my “fitness” and started seeing some improvements but hadn’t quite yet grasped fueling my body properly. I saw minimal toning happening but wasn’t getting the results I really wanted…to be skinny!

I signed up for a half-marathon in Nashville, TN, in 2007, thinking that this would lead me to skinny.  I ran 6 days a week in my nike shocks, which is basically like running in heels and gained weight. womp! womp! I was over training and not giving my body proper recovery time which at the time I knew nothing about. I did, however post a stellar time of 2:10 with massive hills that Florida definitely did not prepare me for at all. But that didn’t come without consequence. My knees killed me and I lost two toe nails…OMG I died!! Anyways, I was beyond confused and felt hopeless about my weight. I signed up at a local gym and worked out 5-6 days a week, once again falling in love with spin. I started researching healthy recipes and how to balance out food and fitness. In a span of 4 months, I lost 20 lbs…skinniest I had ever been!  yikes! I looked fit but I didn’t really have a whole lot of muscle tone but I was okay with that. At 5’5″ 118lbs, I was happy with myself.

Second time around running the Rock N Roll Music City Half Marathon...not at my healthiest. I drank beer the night before the race.

Second time around running the Rock N Roll Music City Half Marathon…not at my healthiest. I drank beer the night before the race.

A few years on down the road, I started really getting into wanting more muscle definition and eating right. I have finally found my balance and my motto…exercise is queen, food is king. Whereas, in the past it was exercise over food.  I know what my body needs after each workout and I mix up my workouts every time. I go in to the gym with a plan! I love HIIT workouts and lifting weights. I also enjoy tabata and body weight workouts as well. I used to be cardio queen but now I warm up with cardio and keep my heart rate up during my workouts. My rest periods are basically nothing, most of the time, and I love, love the BOSU ball!

Thats me just a little over a year ago...some muscle tone going on underneath the layers.

Thats me just a little over a year ago…some muscle tone going on underneath the layers.

..and here is me today...can you see all the muscle?!?!?

..and here is me today…can you see all the muscle?!?!?

Ok, here is me a couple months ago...muscles are a growin...

Ok, ok, here I am a couple months ago…muscles are a growin…

Bosu ball and legs workout today!

Bosu ball and legs workout today!

 

Basically, long story short, since I first stepped foot in gyms, fitness facilities, whatever you want to  call them, nine years ago, I have learned a whole lot!! I know how to replenish my body after my workouts and I just love seeing the results I get after a grueling workout. Not all my workouts are up to par, but I still push myself. I have way more muscle now than I ever thought I would have and I love it!! I would rather have muscles than be 120lbs and skinny. Now, I am going off the fact that I am 5’5″, so 120lbs is skinny on me. There is NOTHING wrong with being skinny if its healthy, but muscle is beautiful, in my opinion, and I love seeing the definition I have worked so hard on maintaining.

I am still an open book to learning about my body, food, and health in general, not only for myself, but for others as well. It has truly become a passion of mine and I can not wait to see where this journey leads me!!

2 thoughts on “Workin On My Fitness

    • It can be so overwhelming!! I used to really love the website fitsugar….they post awesome workouts. My favorite is the Skinny Jeans Leg workout…I still do that one occasionally! Nost of them you can do at home =)

      Like

Leave a Reply

