Meal Prepping

Heeyyy!

My workout this morning involved a lot of core work which is my favorite! I warmed up with 20 minutes on the arc trainer and ended it with some HIIT aka box jumps, jump rope and burpeeeeeees!

core work

click to make larger

Here are some links to some of the exercises since a few of you have asked me to post examples!

Cable Crunches: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_VSOnS1hXV0

Cable Woodchoppers: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qkS4R9HPXjY

Cable Leg Swings or Cable Toe Touch: I swing both legs at the same time but this is another variation!

source: muscleandfitnesshers.com

source: muscleandfitnesshers.com

Planks with knee pull: I do this while balancing on a BOSU ball.

source: fitandfablife.wordpress.com

source: fitandfablife.wordpress.com

Leg Raises with DB: I grip the actual pull up bar since my gym doesn’t have straps. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BI7wrB3Crsc

For some time now, I have been an advocate of meal planning. Each weekend, I put together a list of meals for the upcoming week so that I don’t have to go to the grocery store at all during the week and try to figure out lunch or dinner. It saves money, time and keeps us on track with healthy eating!

mealprepp

Typically, I do my shopping on Sundays or Mondays. I hit up Traders Joe’s and then Kroger if TJ’s didn’t have what I needed. The items you will most likely find in our cart on a weekly basis:

  • asparagus
  • fresh spinach
  • bell peppers
  • brussel sprouts
  • carrots
  • sweet onion
  • artichokes
  • spaghetti squash
  • avocado<—I eat one everyday!
  • apples
  • bananas
  • grapefruit
  • blueberries
  • lean ground turkey
  • chicken breasts
  • salmon
  • tilapia
  • multi grain bread
  • cottage cheese
  • meatless breakfast patties (TJ’s are delicious)
  • eggs
  • almond milk
  • organic vanilla yogurt (TJ’s)
  • frozen mango, strawberries, blueberries

I mix up our meals weekly to keep it interesting. Just recently, we started meal prepping our lunches and snacks. We will cook up some protein and roast vegetables and place each individualized meal in the fridge so it is easy to grab for lunch or after a workout. I am loving this now as it is a huge time saver and I feel great after eating. I also hard boiled eggs, cut up carrots and celery, made a huge batch of overnight oats, and of course keep lots of avocados. I also make my own artichoke pesto and cook up a spaghetti squash to keep in the fridge for a snack.

mealprep

Alex bought a dry erase board for our weekly meals and little notepads so we can keep track of what we are eating as well as our workouts. We can’t wait to see all our hard work come together!

 

Have a great Tuesday!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

