Leg Workout and Brownies!

Hi friends!

I woke up this morning with a lot of energy and I am not sure why that was the case since I only got about 5 hours of sleep last night and had a super crazy night at work but I will take it! I took that energy to the gym to complete a super sweaty, killer leg workout. It went something like this:

click to make larger

click to make larger

For my warm-up, I didn’t get on a cardio machine, I did 3 sets of 10 burpees with a wide grip pull-up and 10 man makers because those are killer and 10 just about made me want to go home! I probably should have just done 8 or 5 because I am sure by the 5th one my form was a bit off. I also did 4×12 Single Leg Medicine Ball Bridges and Good Mornings on the Smith Machine.

There have been quite a few of you have who asked me to post videos of some of my exercises so I will do my best to get links in on each post. I would do more videos of me performing them but I usually workout on my own so I need to find a better way to set up my phone to record myself. Always awkward but it is really cool to have friends and readers email, text or comment me asking me to post videos of me performing my exercises!!

Man Makers: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OmOIDWCvbNg

Burpee Pull-ups: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RWysgOhr0vM

I cooled off with 3 sets of 10 squats on the Smith Machine with no added weight and stretching! I will feel this workout tomorrow.

ecard1

I love finding new exercises that are challenging. It keeps the gym from getting redundant which you never want and it also allows for different muscle groups to get involved. Too many times, especially when I worked out at a huge, chain fitness center, I would see people with defined traps but no other back muscles? Or deltoids for days but no biceps? I just feel like if your muscles aren’t balanced then it can create or result in injuries. That is just my opinion so focus on ALL muscle groups and you will see excellent results!

ecard2

This morning, I woke up starving so I ate 1/2 cup of overnight oats, a banana, and half a grapefruit. Delicious fuel for the gym. I also whipped up some healthy brownies because I was craving chocolate.

IMG_6771

My love for sweet potatoes took over again in this recipe!! In the brownies went:

1 1/4 c bananas

1/2 c cooked, smashed sweet potato ( I have also used pumpkin puree)

3/4 c p.butter (I used sunflower butter)

2 eggs

1/3 c unsweetened cocoa powder

1/4 c applesauce(I use the no added sweetener applesauce)

3/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder

2/3 c chocolate chips (I may have added more in this batch)

In a processor, add banana, sweet potato, and nut butter until smooth. Add eggs and applesauce, puree again. Then add baking soda and cocoa powder.

Mix in chocolate chips but don’t over stir. Add to an 8X8 pan and bake at 375 degree for 15-20 minutes.

I have already eaten 1/4 of the pan. Alex, please come home soon so I don’t eat the whole thing!

Laters!!!!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

