Monday Monday!

Hope you had a fantastic weekend!!

Charlee aka Chuck!

Mine was uneventful but relaxing.

I woke up super early this morning…bright eyed and ready to go for only getting 5 hours of sleep. I’m so strange.  I took it all to the gym and on the way there I was debating killing my legs or upper body. I couldn’t make up my mind so I figured once I walked in to the gym I would know…probably based on if the machine I wanted was taken or not. As I walked in,  I was greeted by the trainer  who did my fitness assessment over the weekend, and he asked me what I was working out today and legs popped out in which he replied “great, I’m going to kill your legs today!” Wheeee!!

This was totally not expected! I was planning on going in there and doing my thang but hey, I’ll take a challenge!

I warmed up for 5 minutes on the treadmill. I put it on an incline of 7 at a speed of 4.5. It got my blood flowing so I hopped off and met the trainer at the V-squat machine. He had me do a superset of 20 deeeeep squats and then 20 sumo squats with a 50lb DB. Yep, after the first superset, I could feel the burn. I did two more supersets and I thought my legs were going to fall off.

He then put together two boxes, had me stand on them and do 20 squats holding a 45lb KB followed by 15 calf raises. I did three rounds of those supersets.

Next up, I did 3 supersets of 20 walking lunges with 25 lb DB and stiff leg deadlifts holding a 35lb barbell; 20 each set.

I laughed because now I am totally feeling like jello, or a blob, just a big blob that felt spread out all over the floor. I couldn’t walk right to the water fountain. #winning

I ended this killer leg workout with side squats. I have super tight IT bands, so he had me push a 25lb weight with my foot as I went down in to my side squat. 30 reps for each leg.

What I learned from this training session: I need to push myself more!

He had me complete each superset with no rest between each exercise. This was fabulous because it kept my heart rate up and I was sweating and swearing two minutes into the workout!! This was all completed in 20 minutes followed by 10 minutes of stretching and foam rolling. I am not going to walk right for the next couple of days.

 

I need to kick my own ass more often.

squats

PS: Links to some of the exercises performed above:

Stiff Leg Deadlift

Sumo Squat

V-Squat Machine

 

PPS: sorry there aren’t that many photos, like I said, uneventful, snowy, cold weekend.

 

 

One thought on “Monday Monday!

  1. Pingback: Mixing Up My Workouts | Kiss FitBliss

Leave a Reply

